NI Opera

The Belfast Opera – A New Community Project with Belfast Buildings Trust

Belfast Buildings Trust wants you to be involved in telling Belfast’s Story. Along with NI Opera and a range of community partners, the Trust are asking Belfast’s people to get involved in an exciting new arts project to tell the story of the city (and all will be revealed in a few weeks’ time).

“Belfast’s Story is about you and your city. Our first step is to gather your memories of Belfast’s glories and your hopes for its future. Between April and June we’ll host a series of workshops across the city. These will explore what Belfast’s story is and what its people want it to be. We’ve been inspired by the city’s ambitious industrial and maritime past. But we want your inspiration, memories and hopes to make that relevant for today. We want you to tell the world what Belfast means in 2015.

You are welcome to attend as many of the workshops as you like. Old photographs, newspapers, yearbooks, diaries etc. are very welcome as inspiration for the workshops and stories. Tea and coffee facilities will be available.” (Shane Quinn, Development Manager, Belfast Buildings Trust)

The workshops will take place on the following dates and times in four venues across Belfast:

Duncairn Centre for Culture & Arts, Duncairn Gardens
Tues 5th May, 2pm-4pm
Thur 21st May, 10am-12pm
Sat 23rd May, 2pm-4pm
Wed 3rd June, 7pm – 9pm

East Belfast Network Centre, Templemore Avenue
Mon 11th May, 10am-12pm
Wed 13th May, 2pm-4pm
Thur 14th May, 7pm-9pm
Sat 30th May, 2pm-4pm

Conway Mill, Conway Street
Thur 30th April, 2pm-4pm
Sat 9th May, 2pm-4pm
Wed 13th May, 10am-12pm
Tue 19th May, 7pm-9pm

Morton Community Centre, Lorne Street
Wed 29th April, 10am-12pm
Sat 16th May, 2pm-4pm
Wed 27th May, 2pm-4pm
Thurs 4th June, 7pm-9pm

For further information or to register, visit www.thebelfastopera.com

#thebelfastopera

NI Opera’s Young Artists to Perform Messiah with Fermanagh Choral Society – Sunday 29th March at 8pm

Featuring members of NI Opera’s Young Artists’ Programme, mezzo-soprano Helen Aiken and tenor Conor Breen will perform solos in Handel’s Messiah with Fermanagh Choral Society accompanied by the Orchestra of the Western Sinfonia.

For more details and to book tickets, call the Fermanagh Visitor Information Centre on 028 6632 3110 and tickets are priced £8 with free entrance for schoolchildren.

Spring Serenade – St. Patrick’s Church, Glenarm, Friday 20th March, 7.45pm

Featuring members of NI Opera’s Young Artists’ Programme and Larne Concert Choir, this spring evening of music will include choral favourites and solo arias by Hamilton Harty, Benjamin Britten and W.A. Mozart.

Friday 20th March, 7.45pm
St. Patrick’s Church, The Cloney, Glenarm
Admission £8 on the door and includes supper

Soprano – Andrea Delaney

Mezzo-soprano – Helen Aiken

Tenor – Conor Breen

Pianist – Jonathan Rea

<< Older Posts Newer Posts >>